547,579 active members*
2,545 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    9

    Lathe spindle encoder drive

    I picked up a 600 pulse quadrature encoder for the 1720XMTC, and I'm scratching my head on how to drive the thing. What have others done?

    I'm thinking driving it from the gearbox output which runs at half or quarter spindle speed is the only option.

    Looking for ideas.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Re: Lathe spindle encoder drive

    I attached the encoder to the backside of the spindle.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0094.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	97.8 KB 
ID:	470404

  3. #3
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5029

    Re: Lathe spindle encoder drive

    My spindle encoder is driven directly from the spindle at 1:1 using timing pullies and a belt.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Similar Threads

  1. Spindle Encoder options for a Smithy Lathe
    By Crusader8968 in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2020, 12:02 PM
  2. spindle encoder for lathe
    By anowrosh in forum Mini Lathe
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-11-2018, 11:03 PM
  3. Spindle encoder Haas Mini lathe delivery
    By marto74 in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-25-2012, 02:53 PM
  4. spindle dc servo / encoder, lathe
    By hutchison in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-05-2009, 03:48 PM
  5. Need an encoder for my C3 lathe spindle.
    By alexccmeister in forum Shopmaster/Shoptask
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 04:56 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •