584,837 active members*
5,374 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > G-Code Programing > Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    Hi,

    Switching from one machine to another this problem popped up and I havn't been able to solve it.
    Running G-code fine on one machine yet showing errors on the other.

    My g02 programmed as X Y I J with a G90 works on one machine. Reading all the functions as absolute.
    On the second machine the I and J will stay incremental no matter what I try.

    The simpler the change is to rewrite the same codes would be best. If this is possible ofcourse. Might it be
    that I miss crucial information on however the systems work? Could it be a machine setting?

    Thanks in advance,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5717

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    It is most likely a machine setting. It the machines are identical, then it may be possible to switch between G90 and G91. If they are not identical, then who knows?

    What machines and controllers?
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    It is most likely a machine setting. It the machines are identical, then it may be possible to switch between G90 and G91. If they are not identical, then who knows?

    What machines and controllers?
    The new one is with sinumerik, but old has same g90 g91

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    322

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    It is very common nowadays that IJK are incremental by definition. Not only sinumerik, but Fanuc and many other languages works like that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4131

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    hy, if you wish, i can create a simple app, that should fix your code

    deliver code as is, and also as it should be, so to spot the differencies, and write the code for it
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  6. #6

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    Thank you all for helping.

    For now i'm rewriting the code manually. An app would be awesome, yet I am not to sure what takes more time. Also there are some inconsistency's in the code regarding rounding off values. Thus I'm not too sure an app will work for that, yet I do not know anything about apps, how they work etc. What would such an app cost me?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4131

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    hello look, don't worry, i am here to help; if i can solve your task, then we talk

    An app would be awesome, yet I am not to sure what takes more time
    example's about how it could work :
    ... you simply drag your file over an icon on desktop, and then an app will fix it automatically
    ... or you put in inside a folder, that is always scanned for content, thus you file is detected automatically
    ... or you open a progam, drag your file in it, run a few checks ?!?

    however, it can be done simple, but, if you wish to go that way, then simply provide what is, and how it should be

    Also there are some inconsistency's in the code regarding rounding off values
    truncation problems, and such, when it comes to radius, is not a new problem; some cnc machines are built in such a way, to somehow detect and compensate such anomalies

    i don't say that i can fix those, but at least i can try; depending on your actual error level, it may be possible to aproximate it for example, at the end , you receive a report, about what has been fixed, and how much shift was needed
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4131

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    hy in case you are still arround, below is a code generated by whatever cam software, that i process futher, detect&display deviations in the last column; later, those can be minimized, or even eliminated

    it happens automatically, in background, thus it works, and you may forget about it / kindly

    Code:
      G03  X 207878  Y 327098  I - 30444  J   9632  e0.052
           X 207989  Y 339764  I -194548  J   8038  e0.028
           X 207385  Y 352557  I -287669  J - 7171  e0.002
           X 206234  Y 362484  I - 99825  J - 6544  e0.012
           X 197269  Y 386603  I - 69579  J -12137  e0.074
           X 187866  Y 399547  I - 80569  J -48641  e0.006
           X 179012  Y 407785  I - 43880  J -38285  e0.125
           X 164127  Y 416200  I - 40003  J -53387  e0.08
           X 155614  Y 419110  I - 29250  J -71661  e0.027
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1950

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    You did not tell us which type of sinumerik your are using.
    If it is not a very old model you can try the following:
    If for example you have J17 in your NC-program replace it by J=AC(17) (and likewise for I and K).
    I, J, K parameters are incremental by default. With the AC syntax (AC means Absolute Coordinates) the value given will be interpreted as an absolute value.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    351

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    Parameter is set wrong in the 2nd machine so find out what ones related to G02 and G03 and away you go

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1950

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    If I understand correctly the two machines do have different controls i.e. only the new machine has got a sinumerik control.
    Though it will be rather impossible to compare parameter sets of both machines.
    I don't know of any parameter in sinumerik controls which allows to interpret I, J K for circles as absolute values per default.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    992
    Quote Originally Posted by Forwardwiththegoat View Post
    The new one is with sinumerik, but old has same g90 g91
    Fanuc and Sinumerik have too different set of G-code from what I remembered, I had away from cnc 15 years, check you manual.
    The best way to learn is trial error.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Posts
    2

    Re: Any problem solvers? -> Need help with G02/G03 programmed as X Y I J

    Quote Originally Posted by CNCRim View Post
    Fanuc and Sinumerik have too different set of G-code from what I remembered, I had away from cnc 15 years, check you manual mod apk.
    Parameter is set wrong in the 2nd machine so find out what ones related to G02 and G03 and away you go

Similar Threads

  1. G02/G03 Synchronisation problem
    By msrhad in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2016, 06:31 AM
  2. Replies: 29
    Last Post: 06-22-2016, 10:23 PM
  3. Problem with G02/G03 on Fanuc 21tb
    By dj_deadman666 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-16-2010, 08:29 AM
  4. G02 and G03
    By Spunk in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 01-15-2009, 08:48 PM
  5. Program example for G02, G03
    By venomgrrrl in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 08:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •