548,546 active members*
2,102 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > SmoothStepper Motion Control > ESS connected to C85 breaker board/driver Homing problem
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3

    ESS connected to C85 breaker board/driver Homing problem

    I have an ESS Smooth Stepper connected to a C85 board. I am running Mach3 with Mechanical limit switches wired in. When I activate the limit switch for any axis, I see that corresponding input light up on the C85 board and on the Mach screen. I run that axis toward the switch and activate it manually but the motor does not stop.
    I can not figure out what is going on. I am not running the version of Mach3 that is suppose to have homing problems. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1033

    Re: ESS connected to C85 breaker board/driver Homing problem

    Have you assigned the correct pin number of the ess to the axis lilmit input?.
    The lights will light up saying it's working but if mach doesn't know where the switch is it will do nothing.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3

    Re: ESS connected to C85 breaker board/driver Homing problem

    In Mach the pins I assigned are X Home-11, Y Home-12 and Z Home-13.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1033

    Re: ESS connected to C85 breaker board/driver Homing problem

    Quote Originally Posted by stellartom View Post
    In Mach the pins I assigned are X Home-11, Y Home-12 and Z Home-13.
    What about the port number?. Have you selected the correct one of those?.

    For instance. If Mach is set for say port 1 but you've plugged the IDC26 from the C85 into port 2 of the ess, Mach won't see it. Mach would need all the pins set as port 2 in the inputs.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3

    Re: ESS connected to C85 breaker board/driver Homing problem

    Yes I am using Port 1 on the ESS board. What's making me scratch my head is the external E-Stop button is on pin 10 and it functions correctly.

Similar Threads

  1. ESS MB3 Index homing
    By Jonatanw in forum SmoothStepper Motion Control
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-30-2020, 10:35 PM
  2. Homing problem ESS
    By squirrel_41 in forum Mach Wizards, Macros, & Addons
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-03-2019, 09:29 AM
  3. How to use all 8 Axes in Kflop Board Connected with Kanalog Board
    By amitkumar171 in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-24-2018, 06:57 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2016, 03:10 AM
  5. 24V supply leaps to 35V when driver board connected!
    By HankMcSpank in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 10:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •