550,298 active members*
2,384 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    50

    Mach 3 Jog stepping stops working.

    No sure the best place to post this, but I have a custom made gantry mill running off Mach 3. When I set the on screen MPG to step mode, the mill sometimes just stops moving.

    It appears to work perfectly fine in Continious mode.

    Once it stops responding to Step moves, I have to hit RESET to get it back working again.

    Where do I start trying to find out why this is happening?

    It's a custom built machine which I bought from someone already built. It works fine but this issue makes setting up a pain.

    Is this likely to be a Mach 3 issue or a controller issue or a noise/emc issue?

    The controller is a UC100

    Any tips appreciated!

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1097

    Re: Mach 3 Jog stepping stops working.

    I'll have to have a look at my setup I had before.
    I was able to (using keyboard) jog continuous with arrow or page key pressed on it's own and then jog 0.01mm step at a time with arrow/page and ctrl keys pressed at same time.
    Never had to open mpg jog tab after figuring that out.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    50

    Re: Mach 3 Jog stepping stops working.

    Quote Originally Posted by dazp1976 View Post
    I'll have to have a look at my setup I had before.
    I was able to (using keyboard) jog continuous with arrow or page key pressed on it's own and then jog 0.01mm step at a time with arrow/page and ctrl keys pressed at same time.
    Never had to open mpg jog tab after figuring that out.
    I think this is an issue with the UC100, once it locks up, it wont move with any keyboard or onscreen MPG. In step or continuous modes.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1097
    Quote Originally Posted by richard-at-home View Post
    I think this is an issue with the UC100, once it locks up, it wont move with any keyboard or onscreen MPG. In step or continuous modes.
    Do you have legitimate uc100 or one of those Chinese copies that are out there?. The fakes can be iffy.
    Maybe try reinstalling the plugin.

    I've never liked the idea of the UC100. I always saw it as a temporary bodge when parallel was removed from pc's.
    I'd save up for a UC400eth and ditch the 100 myself.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    50

    Re: Mach 3 Jog stepping stops working.

    Quote Originally Posted by dazp1976 View Post
    Do you have legitimate uc100 or one of those Chinese copies that are out there?. The fakes can be iffy.
    Maybe try reinstalling the plugin.

    I've never liked the idea of the UC100. I always saw it as a temporary bodge when parallel was removed from pc's.
    I'd save up for a UC400eth myself.
    Hi Daz,

    Not sure if its a clone or not. It came with the machine...

    I can try a re-install of the plugin and see what happens...

Similar Threads

  1. Mach 3 Jog stepping stops working.
    By richard-at-home in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2021, 09:09 PM
  2. Mach3 Stops responding to Jog and keyboard
    By GeorgeIoak in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2017, 02:43 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-19-2016, 01:21 AM
  4. G540 x-axis slow jog stops working after a minute
    By Waldermac in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2009, 05:50 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •