584,849 active members*
4,055 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Acer Vertical Mill w/ CNC retrofit Proper Feeds and Speeds for Plastic Cutting

Acer Vertical Mill w/ CNC retrofit Proper Feeds and Speeds for Plastic Cutting

Hi, I'm very new to CNC milling (have some experience with CNC waterjet cutting) and am having some trouble with the proper feeds and speeds for cutting plastic. My machine specs are below:

Model: Acer E-Mill 3VS II Vertical Turret Mill
    CNC Retrofit: 3-Axis Acu-Rite MILLPWR G2 CNC Retrofit Kit

I'm trying to cut 4 through holes (0.64" diameter) in a hollow plastic polycarbonate box, around .125" thick. I started out with the below setup:

Tool: 3/8" diameter downcut end mill
    Plunge Feed Rate: 10 IPM
    Cutting Feed Rate: 10 IPM
    Spindle RPM: 1200 (max my machine can do is 4500)
    Cutting Direction: CCW
    Step depth per Pass: 0.0625

This setup is pretty slow and probably highly inefficient, and makes a screeching sounds when cutting, so I was wondering if anyone would be able to recommend some better feeds and speeds? I know it would probably make more sense to use a 5/8" diameter bit instead of a 3/8" so if anyone could recommend some feeds and speeds for that diameter end mill as well that would be great.

Re: Acer Vertical Mill w/ CNC retrofit Proper Feeds and Speeds for Plastic Cutting

With an end mill I would use a spiral ramp (about 1degree ramp) and cut the full 0.125'' depth in one step down if the hole diameter is critical. But I really think the proper tool for this job is a step drill. I have a similar machine, and have a similar job coming to do tomorrow where the holes are 0.875''. I'm going to use a step drill.