585,599 active members*
3,560 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > CamBam > incorrect tool path on table display
Page 1 of 2 12

incorrect tool path on table display

Help!! have used cam bam to make g code to surface my table but when loaded the tool path is not on the table. what have I done wrong.
    I am a beginner and know very little about what to do.

Re: incorrect tool path on table display

Does the machine 0,0,0 match the G-code 0,0,0?
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

not sure but i'll check that now. would this be the start point of the milling process? at present the tool path is only on the lower left hand quarter of the table display

Quote Originally Posted by moswede View Post
    not sure but i'll check that now. would this be the start point of the milling process? at present the tool path is only on the lower left hand quarter of the table display
    In that case all of the moves should be in the -X and -Y quadrant, with 0,0 at the upper right of the machine table.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Correction now the display is 50% to the upper right of the x,y junction and 50% to the left 4th line of code is G20 G90 G40

That sounds like the G-code 0,0 is in the center of the tool path. I'm not sure what the problem is, but it still seems like your CamBam setup is not correct. Let's take a look at your CamBam setup.

Attach your .CB file with a .TXT extension. (The forum attachment filter won't accept a .CB file)
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Jim, you are correct. i retried with the router in the center of the table and the tool path was now on the table. I do have another error and that is the surfacing area dimensions are a little to large so I need to figure out how to edit the program and make the surfacing area 1 inch smaller on all sides. my table dimension is 39 inches on the x and 17.5 inches on the y. I want to surface and area 36" on the x and 15 on the y.