584,800 active members*
4,822 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

TTL/PWM Output for Laser

Hey guys, I need some help. I have a NewCNC Series 1 router that I am trying to add a 15W Optlaser to. I am pretty new to CNC machining so please excuse any shortcomings in my description of the issue. In order to function the laser, I need to provide a TLL/ PWM signal and a ground. I have a USS Smoothstepper that connects via port 1 to a PDMX-122 BoB and have open output pins available (15,16,17) on the BoB.

I have connected the TTL lead of my laser adapter to Pin 16 and made the following adjustments to Mach3:

Spindle Setup: Checked used spindle motor output - Checked PWM control - PWM base frequency = 5000 - Minimum PWM = 0
    Motor Outputs: Spindle enabled - Step Pin = 16 - Dir Pin =17 (I had to assign 17 a Dir pin as Mach would not let me leave the Dir pin unassigned) DirLowActive = X - StepLowActive = X - Step port = 1 - Dir port = 1
    Pulley Selection: Pulley number 4 - MIn speed = 0 - Max Speed = 10000 - Ratio = 1
    Motor Tuning Spindle: Steps per = 1 - Velocity = 10000 - Acceleration = 2000 - Step pulse = 5 - Dir Pulse = 5

I also made the following changes in my Smoothstepper config:

Spindle: Checked PWM, and set base Hz to 5000