585,578 active members*
4,094 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: servo motors

servo motors

hi members

i am converting a knee mill to a 4 axis cnc and i have been looking at different controller software for my conversion and have chosen to use linux cnc ,not so much thats its free but from what i have read it also looks to be very capable, my question is how hard is it to learn linux cnc, i have some programing knowledge but know nothing about g code
    and further am i missing other software out there that is as capable and easier to learn as linux cnc that members know about,i have also read that mach 3 is limited when it comes to servo drives ,is this correct

Also if i was to use linux cnc what motion control board would be best for this application considering i want to control spindle speed using a vfd and linux cnc so the motion board would have to have enough inputs and outputs for limits and homing switch as well as other outputs like lubrication and vfd , also be able to drive a 5th axis, any help would be very appreciated

kind regards wayne

Re: servo motors

Hi,
    I'll leave the LinuxCNC questions to those who know more than I.

Mach3, or better still Mach4 can run pulse input servos. Just about all modern servos have Step/Direction pulse inputs and just about any control software
    that produces Step/Dir pulses will run them fine. In many respects modern servos work identically to stepper drives, if you can drive a stepper you can drive a servo.

There are still a few analogue servos around. They require (from the controller) an analog voltage, and the controller has to close the position loop. Mach3 and
    Mach4 CAN be made to do that, but only at the expense of hardware and simplicity, and overall I would say that Mach3/4 are not well suited to analog servos.
    Analog servos, if you can still find them are more expensive than modern AC servos anyway. The only reason you'd shag around with analog servos is if you already