584,842 active members*
4,491 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Avid CNC > Cut Outs for Electrical Boxes in Plywood

Cut Outs for Electrical Boxes in Plywood

I haveHello group,
    I am a builder in Albuquerque NM. I just built my Avid CNC machine (4 x 8 ). We use 4 x 8 sheet goods in a variety of way. At the moment I am trying to figure out the best way to cut out electrical outlets, recessed lighting cutouts, etc.
    I've made some test cuts but the width of the bit makes my hole bigger than needed. And I'm having difficulty getting to the right spot on the plywood to make my cut. I am new to this whole process.
    Here are my questions:
    1. What is the best way to get to specific measurement on my plywood to make my cutout for an electrical outlet?
    2. What is the best way to set up the cut to get the exact size of an electrical outlet?
    3. What size and type of bit should I use to get the best accuracy and cleanest cut? Currently I am using a 1/4 up cut bit.

I am currently using VCarve Pro

Any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Cut Outs for Electrical Boxes in Plywood

Well, I could try to answer your questions but it wouldn't help you much. You know the old saying, "teach a man to fish..."

So here is a good pond to learn in; https://www.cnccookbook.com/

I would buy their speeds and feeds calculator. You will need it.

I would also invest in a good set of digital calipers and a micrometer. I would measure your tools and use the number you see with your own eyes. Even a cheap set will have better resolution than your AvidCNC machine but get a nice set as they will be your best buddies in this brave new world of yours.

I would also start watching the how-to videos on YouTube. Especially the touch off plate how-to video here; https://youtu.be/CnAlZiYjeiQ

Then you will know where you are on your stock.

Good luck!