585,676 active members*
4,100 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > Need help with servo wiring

Need help with servo wiring

Hello, my name is Strahinja
    Im very new to cnc machines so i dont know much about them. Im fine with all of the mechanical stuff and most electronics work but i just dont understand how to wire in servos. The servos in question are nema 34 jmc servos 400w. Havent bought them yet btw im still working on the design, are drivers for them all i need or is there something else involved. I picked them because they are a cheap option with enought torque sense i will be using a belt reduction because of the rotating nut design

Heres a link
    https://m.alibaba.com/product/1600566145601/60JASM504230K-17B-SC+JAND4002-20B-HOT-SALE-400W-AC-220V.html?__sceneInfo=%7B%22cacheTime%22%3A%221800 000%22%2C%22type%22%3A%22appDetailShare%22%7D&from =Android
    3 normal 1 has a brake
    Theres also i wiring diagram there. Im just hoping i dont have to use anything special just a pc with a break out board.
    Thanks in advance

Re: Need help with servo wiring

Hi,
    these cheap Chinese servos are just that...cheap.....with really poor documentation. I have no reason to believe they wont work but the documentation is so poor that you may struggle to wire them up.

Theres also i wiring diagram there. Im just hoping i dont have to use anything special just a pc with a break out board.
    No, servos require a motion controller, and a PC on its own IS NOT a motion controller. You need to add software like LinuxCNC, then the PC behave as a motion controller with its output
    at the parallel port into which you'd plug your breakout board. If you wish to use Windows OS then you'd choose Mach(3 or 4) or UCCNC, but then you'd have to use and external motion