559,610 active members*
3,565 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    19

    110 outlet on cnc

    Hey all!

    I'd like to add a 110 vac outlet to each of our cnc lathes rather than put cord drops at each machine. What is everyone's best idea for doing this???

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    24001

    Re: 110 outlet on cnc

    Normally you would obtain a suitable sized (VA ) single phase transformer from 2phases or a phase and neutral, if no 120vac was already present.
    On installing the TFMR with a suitable primary and secondary fusing, 2 in the pri, and one in the secondary.
    One side of the secondary would be taken to the earth GND at the cabinet service entry, this GND connection would then become the local neutral for the outlets.
    The NFPA79 print shows how to set up the 120v N.
    See transformer 1T.
    Do you already have any kind of 120vac on the machine?
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    14441

    Re: 110 outlet on cnc

    Quote Originally Posted by hodaken View Post
    Hey all!

    I'd like to add a 110 vac outlet to each of our cnc lathes rather than put cord drops at each machine. What is everyone's best idea for doing this???
    120v is correct for NA not 110v, your best is to see what each machine has already, most machines have a Transformer that may have a 120v tap that could be used, if not a dedicated 120v line with a GFI protected circuit would be needed

    What do you need the 120v to be used for
    Mactec54

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    24001

    Re: 110 outlet on cnc

    You do not need a GFI if you follow the NFPA79 example, it has been done this way for many decades by re-referencing ground and set up the local neutral.
    .
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    14441

    Re: 110 outlet on cnc

    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    You do not need a GFI if you follow the NFPA79 example, it has been done this way for many decades by re-referencing ground and set up the local neutral.
    .
    Only if this came from the existing machine electrical system, your decades old practices don't cut it any more

    The latest 2020 code requires all new installed circuits to use a GFI that is for 120v / 240v Single Phase circuits industrial and residential

    “All 125-volt through 250-volt receptacles installed in the locations specified in 210.8(A) (1) through (11) and supplied by single-phase branch circuits rated 150 volts or less to ground shall have ground fault circuit interrupter protection for personnel.”
    Mactec54

  6. #6
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    19

    Re: 110 outlet on cnc

    THANK YOU ALL! I'VE DECIDED IT'S NOT WORTH THE RISK.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    14441

    Re: 110 outlet on cnc

    Quote Originally Posted by hodaken View Post
    THANK YOU ALL! I'VE DECIDED IT'S NOT WORTH THE RISK.
    There is no risk, what did you need to use the 120v receptacles for, this would determine the amperage of the circuit
    Mactec54

  8. #8
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    24001

    Re: 110 outlet on cnc

    Do you have the schematics of the machines? What Make are they?
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Similar Threads

  1. psg cnc 110
    By akshau in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2014, 08:03 PM
  2. my first lagun 110 cnc
    By madmachinist77 in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2008, 09:00 PM
  3. lagun 110 3 axis cnc
    By madmachinist77 in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2008, 07:35 PM
  4. 2KVA 220 to 110 transformer. Can it be used with 110 volt primary? And gantry pic
    By Bloy2004 in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2004, 02:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •