565,400 active members*
2,629 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > CNC Swiss Screw Machines > Citizen M20 Start Position Change (1999 Year)
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    2

    Citizen M20 Start Position Change (1999 Year)

    Dear experts,
    Is there any way to change start position parameter in the machine? On my machine the turret is going to 180.0 (Z2) every cycle because its nominal start position is it. I lose about 7 seconds per one part.

    Help me please.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6

    Re: Citizen M20 Start Position Change (1999 Year)

    Hi Cbayram7,
    I don't know if you can change the start position by parameter, but I don't think that is actually the reason that Z2 is moving at the beginning of your cycle. The Z2 movement is being caused by your mode change. I'm guessing you have a G600 or G630 at the top or bottom of your program (or another mode change). When the G600 mode is called the turret moves to the forward "home" position (close to the guide bushing) as part of this mode change, when the G630 mode is called the turret moves to the back "home" position. At mode changes you can add the W0 argument in $2 and that will keep your turret where it currently is (i.e. G600W0 or G630W0). Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by cbayram7 View Post
    Dear experts,
    Is there any way to change start position parameter in the machine? On my machine the turret is going to 180.0 (Z2) every cycle because its nominal start position is it. I lose about 7 seconds per one part.

    Help me please.
    I would have thought you have a G54 that you can use to set a safe axis position, then last line of the program G54 G0 G54 would send it to the ie G54 Z100 position.

    The must be a G54 explanation in your manual.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6

    Re: Citizen M20 Start Position Change (1999 Year)

    Quote Originally Posted by servtech View Post
    I would have thought you have a G54 that you can use to set a safe axis position, then last line of the program G54 G0 G54 would send it to the ie G54 Z100 position.

    The must be a G54 explanation in your manual.
    Hi Servtech,
    You have used G54 in your Citizen M type machines? That's news to me. In 10+ programming Citizen swiss machines (M, L, A types with both Mitsubishi and Fanuc controllers)I have never seen nor used G54 in my programs. The G6xx codes control modes and work coordinate systems in my experience.

  5. #5
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder27 View Post
    Hi Servtech,
    You have used G54 in your Citizen M type machines? That's news to me. In 10+ programming Citizen swiss machines (M, L, A types with both Mitsubishi and Fanuc controllers)I have never seen nor used G54 in my programs. The G6xx codes control modes and work coordinate systems in my experience.
    No, there wouldn't be zero shifts if the machine runs in absolute. Don't forget many macro's and m codes written by the manufacturer include ISO programming codes, so they are either not used or hidden.
    The point I was making was to check.

Similar Threads

  1. Questions regarding Citizen A20 and Citizen M20
    By crackthesky51 in forum CITIZEN Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-24-2021, 12:27 PM
  2. Help Needed! How to change start position in RD Works
    By tperceval in forum Thunder Laser
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2016, 02:02 AM
  3. Citizen M20(Classic M20) turret A-axis programmin
    By OMS2010 in forum CNC Swiss Screw Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-13-2012, 09:06 PM
  4. Citizen Start Position L520....L720
    By chet470 in forum CNC Swiss Screw Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 07:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •