565,473 active members*
2,252 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Z Reference Issue

    Greetings,

    I have a 4x8 flat bed machine with a rack of HSK63 tool holders under the bridge that extends toward the spindle during tool change. The controller is an LNC 2200 (Taiwan). During maintenance I crashed the spindle into the extended tool rack, misaligning both. After realigning the spindle tram, all my Z stuff is messed up because I didn't get the spindle mounting plate back were it was regarding Z (there was about 8" gib-way with no index).

    My first indication was when I did the first tool change, the spindle did not lift high enough to clear the tool holder and scraped it out of the fork. Now that I think about, it there may be more systems that are affected by this. Should I try to reattach the spindle (two hours of work) with the plate the right height on the spindle (how could I ever get it right?), or just somehow tell the machine this is now where the spindle is located in Z. Hopefully the later is the case. So, can this be done and where to do it? Is that part of the home routine, that's probably not editable by a user? Maybe the tool change is the only issue and there's just a setting for Z lift during tool change. If so, I couldn't find it.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    263
    Quote Originally Posted by Heirloomwindows View Post
    Greetings,

    I have a 4x8 flat bed machine with a rack of HSK63 tool holders under the bridge that extends toward the spindle during tool change. The controller is an LNC 2200 (Taiwan). During maintenance I crashed the spindle into the extended tool rack, misaligning both. After realigning the spindle tram, all my Z stuff is messed up because I didn't get the spindle mounting plate back were it was regarding Z (there was about 8" gib-way with no index).

    My first indication was when I did the first tool change, the spindle did not lift high enough to clear the tool holder and scraped it out of the fork. Now that I think about, it there may be more systems that are affected by this. Should I try to reattach the spindle (two hours of work) with the plate the right height on the spindle (how could I ever get it right?), or just somehow tell the machine this is now where the spindle is located in Z. Hopefully the later is the case. So, can this be done and where to do it? Is that part of the home routine, that's probably not editable by a user? Maybe the tool change is the only issue and there's just a setting for Z lift during tool change. If so, I couldn't find it.

    Thanks
    I think you need to borrow a large granite square to measure squareness of rails in two planes not just trammel. When square, reset reference points and positions for toolchanging in the parameters.

  3. #3

    Re: Z Reference Issue

    Thanks, The problem is I can't find those settings.

Similar Threads

  1. SolidCAM Workflow - Change Model Reference - CAMpart Name issue
    By intropar in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-14-2017, 10:25 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2016, 01:54 PM
  3. Seems Z and A axis are not running...Motor issue or Step/Dir issue?
    By Cattle in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2016, 08:51 PM
  4. Talent 6/45 Reference Issue Fanuc oi-T Controller
    By hinshelwood in forum Hardinge Lathes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2016, 05:11 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2016, 06:58 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •