565,465 active members*
1,419 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > General WoodWorking > Lost steps from breakout. Need to re-align to existing cutouts
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    1

    Question Lost steps from breakout. Need to re-align to existing cutouts

    I used double sided tape to hold down a project, and one of the small cutouts came loose and caused lost steps for all axis. Is there a good way to align the X and Y axis to the partially completed project after homing all axis and resetting the z0?

    Using Autodesk Fusion 360 and Mach 4 on a home built 26 x 40 CNC with Bosch 1617EVS router.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2390

    Re: Lost steps from breakout. Need to re-align to existing cutouts

    Hi,

    I used double sided tape to hold down a project, and one of the small cutouts came loose and caused lost steps for all axis. Is there a good way to align the X and Y axis to the partially completed project after homing all axis and resetting the z0?
    No, not really. I make circuit boards with my machine, and I too use double sided tape to hold it down. In addition I drill two 1.5mm diameter holes through the PCB blank
    into the spoil board underneath and install two short 1.5mm pins. I make two sided boards and these pins allow you to flip the board and do the bottom side in perfect alignment.
    These pins also mean that should you lose reference part way through the job that you can use the known location of the pins to reset your machine.

    When I may a PCB I always have one pin at (0,-5mm) in X any Y and I can always use the center of that pin to reset my machine if required.

    Craig

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15112

    Re: Lost steps from breakout. Need to re-align to existing cutouts

    Quote Originally Posted by holtesm View Post
    I used double sided tape to hold down a project, and one of the small cutouts came loose and caused lost steps for all axis. Is there a good way to align the X and Y axis to the partially completed project after homing all axis and resetting the z0?

    Using Autodesk Fusion 360 and Mach 4 on a home built 26 x 40 CNC with Bosch 1617EVS router.
    A Laser Edge Finder will get you close to the X0 Y0 start location.

    https://lasercenteredgefinder.com/
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Lost steps maybe ???
    By TchTchr in forum Joes CNC Model 2006
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-27-2009, 04:57 PM
  2. Lost Steps?
    By IAD in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 01:36 PM
  3. X3 Lost Steps
    By pzzamakr1980 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 04:43 PM
  4. Lost Steps
    By boxwood in forum DNC Problems and Solutions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-09-2005, 03:26 PM
  5. help with lost steps??
    By chrisw765 in forum Xylotex
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-16-2005, 09:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •