585,932 active members*
3,711 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Projection

Projection

Hello there,

I'm completely new to Mastercam.

I did a cylindric surface and want to (map) project (unroll) it on a 2d plane. Is that possible with Mastercam V9?

Thanks
    -Frank

BTW: Is is possible to convert a surface to it's entities (arcs, lines, etc)?

BTW: Is is possible to convert a surface to it's entities (arcs, lines, etc)?

Yes.. create - curves - all edges.

As for unroll to 2d not sure exactly what you mean ?

There is a function called Xform roll. I have never needed it but from what I read in the help files, it seems like it will roll OR unroll wireframe geometry (lines, arcs, splines)...

It does not appear to work with surfaces.

I think if you apply "create curves all edges" to the surface, then unroll it, you should end up with planar wireframe geometry...

If you post a file up here I can play with it this weekend...

Is it just a cylindrical surface or is there more details involved ?

Because really, if it was just a simple cylinder, you could figure out the circumference and re-create it much more easily than unrolling...

Thanks Dave your tip about converting works for me.

About unrolling: I want to get the development drawing for lets say a cylinder. Is that possible?

Are you saying you're trying to make a blueprint for people working in the shop ?

If that is the case, Mastercam can make fairly decent prints from solid entities but it requires the solid package on your hasp.

The function is called "solid layout".

Solid layout does not help with surfaces. If you cannot create or get your hands on a solid model, you'll have to draw the 2-d blueprints manually...

Or I suppose if you were to :

1. create curve all edges

2. Xform project all of the curves to a plane

then I suppose you would have sort-of what you are looking for...