584,319 active members*
6,094 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

DeskCNC: need help!

Hello all,

I am new in this forum. I have a problem with deskCNC software. I'm going to explain what I want to do and what is my problem:

- I want to make a part in a CNC machine using deskCNC. I have a CNC machine with 2 axis.

Here is what I done:
    - I Drawn a part with ProEngineer
    - I saved the part as .stl file (is STL file is good?)
    - In DeskCNC: File/Open STL/Open STL
    - Toolpaths/create/Machine. Then Toolpath/Run Machine/Saved
    - I can jog the machine (X and Y axis) exept is the velocity is too high. In this case I can jog only once.
    - When I click on "Go" button, the machine runs and stops after a few seconds. The X and Y axis move in the same time. When I change the velocity and the acceleration, the machine runs more or less longer. Why does the machine stops?

Please, can you help me, I am a beginner with this software.
    Thank you very much for your answers!

Regards

Florian

it sounds to me like your drives are faulting , I would greatly reduce the max speed and see if that helps. you might have better luck initialy try to generate your tool paths from .dxf files , also make sure all the parameters are correct , like spindle speed depth of cut and feed rates for the material and tool combination