584,826 active members*
5,118 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Techno cnc Lathe

Hi all.
    Our school just purchased a new techno CNC Lathe. After using it enough to become familliar with it's capabilities I am rather dissapointed with the techno control software. It only supports IN/MIN & RPM and is rather limited in the number of standard codes it recognizes. Also it is difficult to adjust mid program to get accurate diameters. I was wondering if Mach 3 would run this lathe and if so how do I go about changing over? The Techno runs off a special card in the pc with a cable similar to a printer cable but with 50 pins. I currently use Mach 3 mill on a Tormach PCNC1100 in my classroom. I think the consistency of having both machines running Mach controllers would be very helpful to both students and myself. I am a CNC rookie and would greatly appreciate any advise.

Thanks,
    Dave

Re: Techno cnc Lathe

Zombie thread!

Any updates on this?
    I just bought a used Techno lathe complete less PCI card.
    That card is $550 new, which is probably less than a proper conversion would run.
    Are there any used PCI cards out there left over from converted machines?

Otherwise, how did you do the conversion ..... way back in '07

Just replace the motors, motor drives, power supply and break outboard to get Mach 3 compatibility.

I've never done a lathe but I have converted a few routers including a stepper techno davinci.
    http://www.glenspeymillworks.com Techno LC4896 - 2.2Kw Water Cooled Spindle | Moving Table Mill from Omis 3 CMM, 500Lb granite base | Epilog Legend 32 Laser Engraver

I realize that is an option, and the one most used.
    Right now I have a small mill, and a lathe in that process, but neither is completed, and I have yet to own a working CNC machine. This is strictly a low-budget hobby thing for me, and a learning experience.