584,833 active members*
5,543 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: X2 Options

X2 Options

Hello all! I am converting my X2 in 3ax CNC. I have a few questions:
    1. Is it possible to set up the X2 for rigid tapping?
    2. Does any one know if CNCFusion can supply ball screw/nut assemblies with Nook's precision ground (.001" p/ft.) screws? (I sent a few emails and no reply.)
    3. Did CNC Bridges ever get out any units? How are they? Any pics?
    4. Has anyone used the kit from http://www.thompsonmachine.net/mm2.htm ? (I sent them a few emails as well, with no reply!)
    5. Who has the best stepper/electronics kit? I just want "Plug & Pray". (My electronics talent is pretty much limited to seeing if the bulb is lit after I turn the switch on. I'm a machinist by trade posing as a mild mannered M.E. by day, and entrepreneur by night. I have built several PC's and done some soldering, but short of replacing a wall socket, not much else.)
    6. I want to mill 1018 plate, and 7075 aluminum to +/- .0010" . Is this possible on the X2 CNC?
    Thank you all in advance for your tips and advice!

wocowski

A lot of that is difficult to answer. Subjective experience is always best with these sort of questions.

The best stepper/board KIT that I know of is a xylotex. There are likely many other, more expensive kits available that could be thought of as better.

As far as I know of, CNCBridges has not yet delivered.

I've milled with my Manual X2 into the +/-.001 range, but it's a difficult prospect. My machine requires constant attention and re-calibration for those results. Mine is from Harbor Freight. It's possible that some with X2 machines from Syil or Grizzly are experiencing better and more constant results.

Generally, for those sort of results, you'll want a few machines to do the work. A 50 year old surface grinder would be quite beneficial toward getting extremely flat surfaces without taxing your mill too much.