584,817 active members*
5,055 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > ArtCam Pro > Issues with working on curved surface.

Issues with working on curved surface.

I'm a beginner in using both CNC and Artcam and so far working on a curved surface proved to be tricky, I'm not sure how to make it work 100% but I've been trying to make do, unfortunately, even that seemed to be difficult to pull off.
    I've got a CNC Miller, and use Artcam Premium 2018 for making Gcode, I used a 3mm end mill bit for this work.
    I ended up with the current result:
    (Image 1)
    I basically noticed 3 issues:
    A)The decoration becomes stretched the further away from the center we get, I'm aware this is due to attempting to project a flat design unto a curved surface.
    I attempted to solve this by Using a 3D (Machine Relief) Toolpath, While it seemed to solve the stretching problem, I noticed that when the toolpath gets carved the border between shapes gets completely chipped out, I hoped this had to do with the fact I could not set the starting Z below Z0 (which is at the top), and maybe when I actually machine the toolpath it'll turn out right (I basically established Z origin at the top of workpiece then manually set that to Z=2mm to have it carve 2mm of depth), from the little bit I let it carve it turned out not to be the case unfortunately, I have a feeling I'm not using the 3D toolpathing the way intended.
    B)The further we got from the center The deeper the cuts got from the original 2mm of depth I set up, I don't know why, my guess is either of these two reasons:
    1)The method I use to replicate the work piece's form is inaccurate.
    2)Projecting a 2D Toolpath onto a curved surface not only distorts the shape but also the depth of the cut.
    C) The Final length of the decoration ended up shorter than the workpiece, still don't know why but my guess is that whatever's causing issue B is causing this one too.