585,712 active members*
4,297 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    107

    My 3D Machine simulation is broken.

    I don't know what happened, but my 3d Machine simulation stopped working. I didn't change TNG version between the working and not working state. So it must be something not directly related to the TNG version.

    I just saw the 3d Visualization for a very short time after TNG start and then it was gone and I have no Idea why. Maybe i changed something in configuration, but i am unable to find the cause for the missing Machine Simulation.

    May you take a look at my attached Profile to see if it's working on your side, pleace?
    Meanwhile I upgradet to the last TNG version but no change. (2023.02.20)
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1304

    Re: My 3D Machine simulation is broken.

    Two problems:
    1. "Cuboid" in line 7 is lowercase. These files are case sensitive.
    2. Filename paths are relative to 3dObject.txt file. In your case 3dObject.txt is in profile folder and STLs are in subfolder 3dObj2. You nedd ti fix paths like this:
    <Mesh Filename="./3dObj2/Schraubstock.STL"/>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    107

    Re: My 3D Machine simulation is broken.

    Thank you for the fast response. It's working now.
    Are there any new abilities in the 3D simulation besides the multi axis. For example maybe hiding objects dynamically with parameters?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1304

    Re: My 3D Machine simulation is broken.

    Do you have a wishlist with real case scenarios? Why would you like to show/hide parts/assemblies?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by PlanetCNC View Post
    Do you have a wishlist with real case scenarios? Why would you like to show/hide parts/assemblies?
    In. my case i would use it to show only the tools which are actually in the tool changer. ai already track the existens of a tool internal to avoid collissipn.

    Could also be used to show if the tool changer is open or if cooling is on or attached probe is in retracted position nd so on.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1304

    Re: My 3D Machine simulation is broken.

    Most parameters in xml can be expressions. So it is possible to evaluate parameters. For example, if you do this in your 3dObj:
    Code:
    <Part Name="Schraubstock"  Visible="_hw_estop">
    then Schraubstock will be visible only if E-stop is active. Note that these expressions are evaluated only when model is shown. So you need to hide/show model to reevaluate expressions.

    Another new thing is Expr tag on Model object. Can be used to initialize stuff before model is shown.
    Code:
    <Model>
        <Expr>
    a=2;
    b=3;
    c=a+b;
    print("2+3=", c)
        </Expr>
    ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    107

    Re: My 3D Machine simulation is broken.

    That sounds realy cool. Already have thousand ideas wich parameters could be dynamic.

    Quote Originally Posted by PlanetCNC View Post
    Note that these expressions are evaluated only when model is shown. So you need to hide/show model to reevaluate expressions.
    Any chance of a function which can be called from the expressions.txt to reevaluate the expressions of the 3d View ?? There is no need for real time. Maybe it can refresh when there is time within a few seconds.

Similar Threads

  1. Machine frozen after broken sensor cable?
    By copumpkin in forum Avid CNC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2020, 04:56 AM
  2. building a custom virtual machine for machine simulation
    By Lozzy in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2018, 10:22 AM
  3. Add 5 axis machine in machine simulation
    By amritsingh in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-2015, 01:24 PM
  4. machine simulation
    By G0704 in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2015, 07:08 PM
  5. Interestred in machine but the Controller is broken...
    By Big_Lunn in forum Canadian Club House
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-30-2010, 03:55 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •