584,841 active members*
4,312 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Auto tuning

Question Auto tuning

Hi,
    I have no experience with servos. Should I pay extra for servos that have auto tuning capabilities or is ti ok to buy ones that have to be tuned manually and then tune them myself?

Re: Auto tuning

It is much easier to get a nicely tuned machine with servos and amps that have auto tuning. Manually tuning these systems is not easy

Hi,
    I agree, if you are new to servos then Auto-tuning is a Godsend.

Funnily enough its not even so much the Auto Tune feature but the fact that you have software on a PC that you can program and eventually tune the servo
    that is the real Godsend. A lot of cheap Chinese servos have no such software and so you have to program them by pushing buttons like a microwave.
    There are hundreds of parameters....so you really don't want to do it that way, its just too error prone and the Chinese manuals are typically useless.

If however you buy a better standard of servo, I use Delta for example, Taiwanese made in China, but has set-up and tuning software including Auto Tune.

There is a parameter, a 'figure of merit' that will tell you how hard it will be to tune a servo. Its the inertia ratio. The first moment of inertia of the servo
    is published by the manufacturer. The first moment of inertia of the ballscrew, couplers and the weight of the axis all needs to be calculated, and the ratio compared.

For example my new mill has 750W Delta servos with J=1.16 x10-4 kg.m2

The ballscrew and 150kg axis (5mm pitch screw) has J=9.3 x 10-4kg.m2

So the ratio is 9.3/1.16 = 8

So the inertia of the ballscrew and axis is 8 times the inertia of the servo. This is in the sweet spot for Auto Tune. Auto Tune works really well from about 3 to 10.
    After 10 it starts to look a bit challenged. Its a good place to start but you'll probably want to tweak it a little even after Auto Tune. Beyond about 15 Auto Tune