585,748 active members*
3,434 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > Routing boat parts in plywood - tab / bridge / punch out

Routing boat parts in plywood - tab / bridge / punch out

I am new to both cad cam software and cnc routing.

When I bought a boat kit in the past it had tabs/bridges in the cuts that were used to hold the part in the plywood. These tabs were 1" every 20" of cutting.

I am looking at cutting kits and was wondering if you left .5mm of material uncut as a carrier it would be easy to punch out or cut out with a utility knife? To little, to much?

What are others doing?

I will put complete sheets of ply board on each side of stack of plywood for shipping and strap with steel straps.

I use Bobcad and Bobnest to create the cuts and don't want to manually put the tabs in if I can keep from it.

Thanks in advance for your ideas.

Sam

Boat Parts

Sam
    You're probably going to have trouble with the final (utility knife) cutting of the parts. Unless your customer is very careful they run the risk of tearing the veneer of the plywood as they "punch" out the parts
    Additionally what a pain to have to cut out the entire perimiter of the parts by hand with a knife. With tabs just use a Jig saw to cut the final tab and then only have to sand the 1" area where the tab was.
    Just my thoughts.
    Dave
    "updates always change the feature you need most. "

Talking

I highly recommend an down-spiral bit with a bearing mounted on a table top router to trim those tabs off; just bought another one of these yesterday

http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx...s=8004&pcs=fam

the down-spiral bit will actually save tearing of the veneer / plywood skin. Even a straight spiral bit will not work as well as the downspiral

Tried all those methods to trim off tabs: knife, sanding, dremel.... this is the absolute BEST & fastest way to do it, trust me

Dremel with the drywall cutting bit?