585,987 active members*
4,467 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Anyone know how to hook up eithernet to an OSP100E control with DNC-DT?

Anyone know how to hook up eithernet to an OSP100E control with DNC-DT?

Anyone know how to hookup eithernet to an Okuma MCV4020 with the OSP100E control? I have the DNC-DT option with a hard drive.

I'm new to networking and don't really know what I need. I want to connect the machine to a computer in my office. I don't need any other computers/or internet on the network. Do I need a router or can I just hook up the cable to the machine and computer?

Thanks, and any info would be appreciated.

071105-0652 EST USA

ed:

Without a router or switch you need a CAT-5E cross-over cable. One of mine should work.

Hey gordon,

What would you recommend? Is using a router a better idea, or would the cross-over cable be better?

Here is another small problem. Okuma's computer inside the electrical enclosure has an eithernet jack like on the back of the pc. No external jacks. So I as the service tech the last time he was here how do they get the cable into the electrical enclosure. He says just to drill a hole somewhere and plug directly into the okuma computer. I really don't like this idea. Especially since the cabinet has a cooling unit on it, and there is no stress relief on the cable. Would you happen to have the hardware to install an external plug on the electrical enclosure? I think this would be a much better way to wire this.

071105-1347 EST USA

Ed:

If you plan to connect more than one computer, additional machines, or maybe use our E232 on your other machines, then get an appropriate switch.

If you just use the crossover cable now for now, then later when need exists get the switch.

Using Google with the string

cat-5e through panel jacks

I got the following:

http://www.jaykang.com/capapafeco.html