506,373 active members
2,743 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Need help with toolpaths.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    37

    Need help with toolpaths.

    Im trying to learn MC 9.1 by myself, but I cant figure out how to do the toolpaths.

    Im trying to get a contour around my 3d model, but when I get to an edge with a different z value I cant continue my chain. can anyone help me? Ill include my file to show you what Im working on.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Moderator JIMMY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    197
    If you are trying to just run a cutter around the outside of the part you need to take the outside edge curves and squash them so you have one level drive chain. I would but those edge curves on a separate level so you can just work with them alone. If you need any help just let me know. I will help anyway I can.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    37
    I kinda figured that was what I was going to have to do. I need to figure out how to squash them. Would it be a good idea to copy all my construction geometry and then place that into anew level and squash it or just squash the construction geomerty I have already?

  4. #4
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521
    is the part suppose to be severial parts as I see there are 6 solids.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    37
    No its one solid part I couldnt figure out how to make it from one solid body. I really only need the outside profile as a post since I will just be posting that part as g code and using the dimensions in our prototrak dpm v5 at work. As far as i know they didnt opt for the g code loader for the machine.

  6. #6
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521
    Well who ever made this file did not compile it as single solid but no worry for what you want is on another level.
    Use this link and download this zipped AVI file taking your file and Squashing it. http://www.mastercam-cadcam.com/squashfileinv9.zip
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    37
    I made that 3d model considering I didnt know what I was doing I think it turned out pretty good Thats an awsome avi. Not sure if I have the chooks ill need to look.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    37
    Found the overlap hook worked like a charm thx again.

  9. #9
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521
    (considering I didn't know what I was doing I think it turned out pretty good) I agree and was not meant as a slam eaither. glad I was of help.Did the AVI help?
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    37
    yep it helped alot.

Similar Threads

  1. solids toolpaths
    By piratehcky in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-13-2007, 01:15 AM
  2. Hiding toolpaths...
    By WilliamD in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-18-2006, 03:59 AM
  3. Associated toolpaths and geometry
    By Paul G. Swartz in forum Surfcam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2006, 05:42 PM
  4. OMG all the toolpaths!!!
    By dbtoutfit in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-18-2006, 06:42 PM
  5. DeskCNC and Toolpaths
    By NeoMoses in forum Carken Products (Deskam, DeskCNC etc)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-23-2003, 03:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •