585,973 active members*
4,094 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

PIC 18F Controller Issues

Hi, I'm new to the forums. I'm a computer science student with an interest in electronics and machining and I'm currently in the process of building a laser engraver. I had a bunch of parts and microcontrollers (specifically PIC18F252 and a few others) left over from a previous project and when I decided to build my engraver, well I decided to build the controller as well.

My problem has something to do with the parallel interface to the laptop I'm using. I'm using EMC2, but I believe the problem has something to do with my circuit and I'm at a loss to why. I don't have time to post a circuit diagram right now, but I can later if that'd be of help but a basic description is this:

I have a pic18F252, I'm regulating a 12V supply down to 5V for the MCU. The 12Vs is used to supply the stepper motor (52 oz/in 6-wire unipolar [6v at 0.8A]). The coils are driven by 4 TIP120 Darlington Transistors (with diodes to protect against back emf) that are wired to PORTB of the PIC (specifically ports 7-4). PORTC handles the incoming information, PortC.7 is used to control the (currently this is the x-axis others will be implemented later) x-steps and PortC.6 is used to control x-direction. If PortC.7 is high the stepper will rotate 1 step, wait 7 uS and then return to the main loop to check if the pin is high again (I can post the entire program later if need be).

Ok on to the problem.