585,974 active members*
4,219 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Current Limiting For Steppers

Hi
    i am waleed ,
    I'm sorry for the stupid questions that i will ask, but that's better than living in ignorance
    i am building a 3-axis stepper driver and need to know why should i use current limiting for my motors ? it is well known that the motor winding will (pull) the current it needs from the power supply, so what is the current limiters used for ?
    Another point, some IC's are said to have choppers, does that mean that i don't need current limiting circuits when using these ICs ?

Thank you for your patience with me

Dear waleed alhadidi,

I'm no expert, but these people post some quite useful stuff. It may be a bit confusing to begin with, but their data sheets were really useful to me when I started.

http://www.st.com/stonline/products/...re/an/1650.pdf

Best wishes,

Martin

steppers

also try and Google

"stepper motor basics"

Best wishes,
    Martin

Thank you very much martin for the rapid reaction , that pdf is very helpful
    but i still need someone to simplify the theory for me more than that (i feel very stupid indeed)
    Well , in the pdf they said that the L297 contains chopper , does this mean that i do not need current limiting circuitry if i used this ic ? well that will be a great victory for me and i won't ask no more silly questions then.

i tried the "stepper motor basics", they say that
    Small stepping motors, such as those used for head positioning on floppy disk drives, are usually driven at a low DC voltage, and the current through the motor windings is usually limited by the internal resistance of the winding. High torque motors, on the other hand, are frequently built with very low resistance windings; when driven by any reasonable supply voltage, these motors typically require external current limiting circuitry.
    but why ?