585,722 active members*
4,396 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Feed Rate and Spindle Rate for this cut?
Page 1 of 2 12

Feed Rate and Spindle Rate for this cut?

Greetings.

I need to know what spindle rate and feed rate to use on a cut I'm about to try.

This is my first try at milling aluminum. I'm on a Taig 2019 which has spindle RPM rates from 1k to 10k. My aluminum is 6061 and is 0.25 thick. I'll be going in 0.08" passes on this first try - I think my machine can handle that.

The perimeter of the contour for the part is about 6 or 7 inches long. My carbide end mill is 1/8" diameter and has 4 flutes that are about 0.75" long.

So now that I've written the G-Code, what F speed should I add and what speed should I set my spindle to?

Thanks, gs
    Gary Shepherd
    www.16tracks.com

I tried it at 1k RPM and then about 2500 RPM and then 10K RPM. Each time, my end mill bogged down around the 3rd or 4th pass. I guess the 1/4 HP motor on my Taig is not strong enough. I started at 5 IPM which I guess was too slow. Then I tried 2 and 1 IPM. End mill still bogged down.

So is it the lack of motor power or what? I wouldn't think that 5 IPM would be too much at 0.1" depth cuts. Of course, I'm totally new at this.
    Gary Shepherd
    www.16tracks.com

gs,
    RPM in aluminum if you keep the chips out of the way is usually not an issue, Definitely back off on the .1 DOC, try .030

Ken

EDIT:
    If your mill uses a step pully for RPM changes try it at about 4K.

Thanks

Keep the chips out of the way.... Yeah, they seem to have welded to my endmill. It's round and smooth on the bottom now. Can I get them off?

What about the feed rate? How fast should I be trying to go, say at 0.030 DOC?
    Gary Shepherd
    www.16tracks.com

Soak the endmill in muritiac or phosphoric acid (outdoors!).
    The acid will dissolve the aluminum but not hurt the carbide.
    Some toilet bowl cleaners also work.