512,349 active members
2,440 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Metalworking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Show your limit and home switch setups -X2
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 14
  1. #1

    Show your limit and home switch setups -X2

    Hello all,

    Can you show me your X-2 limit and home switch setups. I'm about to set mine up and I would like to see how others have set theirs up. Pictures of your placement and brackets would be perfect.

    Thanks
    Bill
    Thanks
    Bill

  2. #2
    What, is this a secret? 74 views and nothing ......

    Come on guy's lets see-em.

    Thanks
    Bill
    Thanks
    Bill

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31
    [QUOTE=Micro Rotors;368855]What, is this a secret? 74 views and nothing ......

    Come on guy's lets see-em.

    I'm looking, too!

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    I too, would love to have a peek...

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1440
    Deja vu
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40557

    The Syil setup is as tidy as any. HossMachine also has a video showing limit switches.

    I currently have $2 Radio Shack switches fastened(?) with mechanics wire. Not picture worthy. Who sells switches the size and style of the Syil units? Catalog numbers would be appreciated.


    Edit/ Oops, I meant home switches, not limit switches. A home switch can double up as a limit switch if desired. Imho software limits are good enough for an X2.
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

  6. #6
    Theres a start,

    I find it amazing that there are 217 looks and this is the first hint of any real response.

    I guess were not in the club! :violin:

    Bill
    Thanks
    Bill

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    858
    Ok, here are some pics of mine. This must be as basic as it gets. The microswitches are epoxied on to the structure of the mill (ballnut in the case of the +x). These are strictly limit switches only, nowhere near repeatable enough for use as home switches. I bought a pack of 20 of these switches on Ebay, cost almost nothing. I have no real need to home with the sort of projects I do, anyway.

    +X LIMIT


    -X, +Y AND -Y LIMITS


    +Z LIMIT

  8. #8
    LongRat,

    Thanks, You are the first. I like the simplicity of your system, definitely something to consider!

    Any one else, We don-t care about the craftsmanship here. we just want to see placement and locations like LongRat has done.

    Thanks
    Bill
    Thanks
    Bill

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8151
    This really isn't a stock X2 anymore but the locations for the X and Y should be the same.
    The Z pertains to mine but should give an idea for location.
    Used these switches (NC) from Surplus Center wired in series with each other.
    Hoss
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails X home switch.jpg   X home switch with cover.jpg   Y home switch.jpg   Y home switch with cover.jpg   Z home switcg.JPG  

    Z home switch with cover new position.jpg   home switch covers.jpg  

  10. #10
    Thanks Hoss,

    Looks good.

    Here is the first picture on the net of my converted X2, not a good one but I will post more tonight. Oh Also here is a picture of the start of my NEW shop (I just moved). The bench has been painted and has cabinet doors and shelves inside. I have 6 double build 4' florescent fixtures so the light is like the sun. the area is 11'x23' and with everything together my car and motorcycle will still fit inside. I have to pull them out for any real work though. I'm also making two rolling benches 6' long each and I have a 6' long metal bench that will go in the middle of the other two that I can do some metal work, car / motorcycle repairs and welding.

    Its coming along nicely in the two weeks I have been there.

    Bill
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails mycnc.jpg   bench.jpg   shop.jpg  
    Thanks
    Bill

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1440
    Quote Originally Posted by Micro Rotors View Post
    Thanks Hoss,
    Here is the first picture on the net of my converted X2, not a good one but I will post more tonight. l
    Some close-ups of the Z axis please. Looks very interesting.
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    There is a post with some nice pics at:
    http://www.cncfusion.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=81

    It's an X3 though, not an X2. They did a really nice job though, and it may give you some ideas for your X2.

    -Nate

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible to use the home switch as the limit switch as well?
    By Darc in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2012, 06:25 PM
  2. limit switch and home switch setup
    By Runner4404spd in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-15-2005, 02:58 PM
  3. Limit Switch / Home Switch in Software
    By Sanghera in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-02-2004, 12:58 AM
  4. Limit & Home Switch set-up
    By andybuch in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2003, 05:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •