508,135 active members
3,258 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Help with toolpath.
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    32

    Help with toolpath.

    Hello.
    I'm currently trying to learn Mastercam and i have a question

    How can i machine out the part i have painted in black in the picture?
    The piece is 10 millimeters thick and the "pocket" i have painted is 5 millimeters deep.

    I have tried making a rectangle and pocketing it but i'm not getting the result i want, could anyone help me out with this?

    Also attached the mcx file if that is any help.


    thanks
    MagooT
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails part.jpg  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3527
    please review mu file Partcadcam and see how I used the contour for this option.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    949
    create a geometry..... then pocket it out it work like charm.
    The best way to learn is trial error.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    32
    cadcam> Thanks! That's exactly what i was looking for could you please tell me how you did it?
    I tried drawing a rectangle, solid extrude (cut body), and then adding a contour toolpath. But it just goes inside the rectangle and doesn't extend out like yours did.

    thanks
    MagooT

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by MagooT View Post
    Hello.
    I'm currently trying to learn Mastercam and i have a question

    How can i machine out the part i have painted in black in the picture?
    The piece is 10 millimeters thick and the "pocket" i have painted is 5 millimeters deep.

    I have tried making a rectangle and pocketing it but i'm not getting the result i want, could anyone help me out with this?

    Also attached the mcx file if that is any help.


    thanks
    MagooT
    is the radius of your mill larger than the radius in the corner's of your pocket? double check your endmill diameter.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with surface toolpath.
    By M-man in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-12-2007, 09:02 PM
  2. Toolpath set up?
    By Jessica in forum ArtCam Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2007, 05:13 PM
  3. 3D toolpath help
    By Dfennell in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2007, 08:13 AM
  4. Help needed with toolpath.
    By M-man in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 12-04-2006, 02:44 AM
  5. Project Toolpath on STL
    By Sanghera in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-13-2006, 01:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •