585,917 active members*
3,598 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Town labs TL 512

I am new to cnc-zone, I am looking for cnc mill and can't decide between the sieg x-3 and the townlabs TL512. There is quite a bit of info on the x-3, but i can't find any feedback on the TL512. Townlabs machine is advertized to be made of cast iron, but compares in weight to the alum machines (170 lbs). Townlabs machine has servo motors, most other machines have stepper motors, which is better.

The TL512 is a revamped Harbor Freight micromill (Sieg X1) THose show up on ebay all the time - I'm not too excited about a 1/5 hp refiited drill, tacked on to a heaver base
    http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=47158

http://www.siegind.com/Products/blac...ng-machine.htm

Sieg Has its own CNC version of that machine now its called KX1, but its only avalible though smithy in the USA right now (I dont like the Smithy CNC Warranty - read it close before you get too interested), other places can get dealer info through Sieg
    http://www.siegind.com/cnc_machine.pdf

Townlabs TL 512

DonF Thanks for your reply. I belive taht the TL512 has more XY travel than the X1, but I did not like the way head bolts to the base,very small.What is the best bet,I need a min of 12 X 6 Y travel and will be cutting mostly alum. I know where i can get a X-3 4axis about 1000 more than the TL 512. Will the X-3 cut alum and not take all night. Thanks again.

I found this post about the TL mill....

Quote Originally Posted by allanjs View Post
    Pretorien,
    I own one of those mills listed on ebay and sold by alexbrod.
    It is an extremely light duty mill and a lousy drilling machine.
    The cnc electronics are way higher quality and price than what
    is needed. The machine starts as a Harbor Freight mill. Supposedly
    made by Sieg but I think they are Sieg's rejects. Plastic gears in the
    head that don't take much abuse at all. I can't count how many times