585,974 active members*
4,084 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3

    Reading workingoffset values

    Anyone knows if there is any way to automatically read a workingoffset and set a new one dependant of the first.
    For example, I would like to automatically set the G59 X and Y as double of the G54 X and Y and keep the same Z in both G54 and G59, measuring only the G54 workingoffset.
    I know that I can write to the G59 using
    G90 G10 L2 P6 Xvalue Yvalue Yvalue
    but I don't know if it's possible to read the information in a similar way.
    I would like to do this on a Fanuc serie 310is-A5.

    I think that other possible way is to make a custom Macro but I also don't know how.

    Thank you all;
    RC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    781
    I never use G10 I just directly read/write to the variables.

    On every machine I have seen the work offsets are at these variables and can be read and written. There may be some machines that are different but this seems to be one of the more widely used standards.
    Not all machines use the Ext. offset or us them in the same way.
    Code:
          Axis 1  Axis 2  Axis 3  Axis 4
    Ext.  #5201   #5202   #5203   #5204
    G54   #5221   #5222   #5223   #5224
    G55   #5241   #5242   #5243   #5244
    G56   #5261   #5262   #5263   #5264
    G57   #5281   #5282   #5283   #5284
    G58   #5301   #5302   #5303   #5304
    G59   #5321   #5322   #5323   #5324
    
    So
    #5321 = [#5301 + 10.000]
    Would set G59 X to G58 X plus 10 inches.
    The extended offsets are a little less standard but they should be in the programming manual.

    Also if you run out of variables in the #100 and #500 locations you can use the extra unused work offsets in your macros, same for tool offset varables.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    This will help me a lot.
    Now I just have to find how to put this in my NC code to run automatically and in the right way.

    Thank you for your reply.
    RC

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    274
    Quote Originally Posted by rui.costa View Post
    Anyone knows if there is any way to automatically read a workingoffset and set a new one dependant of the first.
    For example, I would like to automatically set the G59 X and Y as double of the G54 X and Y and keep the same Z in both G54 and G59, measuring only the G54 workingoffset.
    I know that I can write to the G59 using
    G90 G10 L2 P6 Xvalue Yvalue Yvalue
    but I don't know if it's possible to read the information in a similar way.
    I would like to do this on a Fanuc serie 310is-A5.

    I think that other possible way is to make a custom Macro but I also don't know how.

    Thank you all;
    RC

    Try this


    O9999(PROGRAM)
    :
    STUFF)
    :
    :
    STUFF)
    :
    :
    #5321=[#5221*2](X G59=G54x2)
    #5322=[#5222*2](Y G59=G54x2)
    #5323=#5223(Z G59=G54)
    ;(MORE STUFF)
    ;
    ;
    ;
    ;
    M30

    Bluesman

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thank you both for your reply,

    I already tested writing directly to the variables and it worked as I expected.

    Regards
    RC

Similar Threads

  1. reading modbus inputs
    By howling60 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2007, 01:41 PM
  2. problem with cnc reading bob/cad OR something
    By jr2840 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2006, 05:28 PM
  3. CNC recommended reading?
    By margni74 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-30-2003, 04:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •