508,591 active members
3,356 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12

    Red face Toolpath Spaces

    I am using G-scriber to get familiar with CAM based software, it's free for 30 day trial and appears to be user friendly.

    The question I have and I don't know if this is with all cam based software is that after you have made the toolpaths at two intersecting lines or between a polyline and a radius, ther always is a gap on the toolpath line.

    Will the cnc program naturally follow the toolpath to the next line or do I have to manually generate another small toolpath to connect these interrupted toolpaths. Or is it that since this software was very inexpensive that is what you get.

    Bill

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    259
    the way G code is, you give it a starting point, then the next point, it will connect the two.. eg.

    G01 X1. Y1.
    G01 X2. Y2.

    would make an angular line from 1,1 to 2,2

    it all depends on the generated gcode.. if you post code where the 'gap' is, I could explain what its going to do..

Similar Threads

  1. How to generation toolpath ?
    By havythoai in forum Coding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-28-2019, 08:17 AM
  2. Help with toolpath.
    By MagooT in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 02:04 AM
  3. Toolpath set up?
    By Jessica in forum ArtCam Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2007, 05:13 PM
  4. 3D toolpath help
    By Dfennell in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2007, 08:13 AM
  5. surface toolpath
    By Julian M in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-06-2007, 12:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •