585,748 active members*
3,523 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Milltronics > Error 403 Z axis software limit overtravel

Error 403 Z axis software limit overtravel

I am a noob to CNC, but I am working hard at it.

I get the title overtravel message on my 2003 MB-20 mill running a Cent 6 controller. I've run some tests before and not recieved this. I brought in a new NC file to drill holes in some birch ply. It did well at first then it crashed the pointing tool into the part (indeed broke it). I figured I might be hitting the lower Z stop switch so I ran a dry run test with the quill lowered. It would instead rapid return to a higher and higher plunge start point at each hole...then the 403 alert (I get the alert before it is close enough to acually hit the Z overtravel switch).

I've carefully set and confirmed the g54 xy zero's and I physically touched-off the tool Z offsets. I am using FeatureCam for NC output, I looked at the code and there are no G92 calls. Also the numbers appear right for the Z heights for drilling and pointing. I look at the G92 settings in the MB20 nothing there. Perhaps it is an absolute vs relative thing.

I am befuddled... any thoughts would be appreciated.

You might write a small program to do some rapid and feed Z moves to check if it is repeating. It sound like the Z axis is losing encoder counts or slipping. That may also be the cause of the original crash if it was running fine on that same program.

The error is a soft limit which the machine knows it will over run in the next block. If the encoder was slipping, it wouldn't realize it was getting close and trip the over travel first. So that adds to the mistery.

If the program isn't too big, you might post that for a better idea of the environment it is running under. Provided it is a G-code file. Conversational is different.