585,930 active members*
3,603 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

11x27 Precision Matthews Lathe

Hi
    I am considering purchasing the above lathe and was hoping someone has some experience with it and can tell me about it.

Can it cut both directions or toward the headstock only? Is it a good machine?

Anyhelp would be great!!

Thanks
    Walt

Well since nobody is speaking up, I guess I will turn this into a "tell people about a Precision Matthews 11x27" I ordered it this morning should be here next week!!

Walt

Walt,

I'm sorry I didn't see this sooner, but I'm afraid I would not have been much help anyway.
    I am still learning, and I have no experience with any other lathes to compare it to.

If you want to see some pictures of the one I got (purchased it March '07)
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showth...t=30843&page=3

I plan to revive this thread soon, I have been very busy this last year. (eek I have some apologizing to do) been awhile since I posted there.
    I just recently got the thing leveled properly, and started taking some heavy cuts in aluminum.

One thing you might do is find yourself a replacement fuse or two now before your in the middle of something and have it blow.
    I just recently had this happen, and unfortunately I was unable to find one locally. So now I am waiting for some replacements from digikey.

If you have any specific questions you would like to ask, or if you want me to go measure something, or whatever - feel free.

I think mine will make a fine cnc retrofit some day.
    Glad to see someone else with one now!
    Keep us posted

-

Andy

Thanks for the reply, checked out your thread also, nice pics!
    What kind of fuse is it so I can look around for one before it gets here?

Walt

The fuse on mine is 5x20mm 15A.
    I ordered http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...me=283-2836-ND
    Unfortunately they have a 5 dollar handling fee if your order is under $25.

-

Andy

Hurray!!