584,802 active members*
5,071 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Vinyl cutter

Vinyl cutter

Has anyone here built a Vinyl cutter and could you post a link to your machine DIY , I'm looking to build one. I understand there are 2 types , thanks Mike

vinyl cutting

I havent but want to. I used to work in the sign industry and imagine it would be some sort of swivel pen knife plotting like we used to use. I remember this from when I really investigated this site way back when. Check it out as well as the rest of the site:

http://www.cuttingedgecnc.com/vinyl.htm

vinyle cutter

This is something I have been thinking about building for a long time myself. I have been researching and giving it some thought since my first reply.

It just occured to me....I am thinking that the bearings on my taig mill head(belt removed) will suffice. It doesnt make much sense to make a bearing system when there is one built right in. I may just try to make some sort of tool holder with spring or gravity tensioned slide in the Z. Much like the ones I have seen (professional and amatuer).

Blades for vinyl cutters are cheaply and readily available off ebay.
    I was thinking about using a spare pin vise or old foredome handpiece jacobs chuck as a starting point. Modify and make a slide

But it just occured to me a more simple solution: Make a two part slide, using an inner and outer tube, The inner tube being the one that holds the cutter. I am going to bore this inner tube to be a snug fit to the tool and use a magnet to hold the cutter in. Then make the outer tube so that it fits just snug enough so there is no play but slides easily. Just need to figure out the weight or spring load portion to the hold the cutter down.

I may put this into action this weekend and test my theory.....