584,865 active members*
4,942 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Vinyl cut outs and tracing images

Hello there it's me again :P

So i left the old HP plotter for what it is and bought myself 1 off the chinese branded plotters the P cut 630.

Haven't had much problems till now but it seems to be working great and that only for 400 dollars is not a bad deal.

So i had some high quality images i want to trace in Corelldraw ( i'm not too familiar with this program i always work in Photoshop. )

So the first thing i do is pre edit the pictures in photoshop export them in EPS and then import them in Corell.

This might seem a bit of work but hey i'm a total noob in Corell.
    When i trace out the outlines off my designs they sometimes come out ribbley not completely straight and clean.

I tried to soften and smoothen the edges and still not perfect as i want it.

Any help or tips ?

I also want to make a 2 or 3 different collor design on vinyl.
    I saw a while ago a movie on youtube about it but i can't find it again i realy like to make like 2 or 3 different collor design.
    But i don't know how exactly.

I juse corel x4 and Artcut x 2 for the cutting

Best regards

Michael

Michael
    Are you drawing in vector format ?
    At first read IT looked like to me ,that you created your art in photo shop then exported in eps then traced in corel ? So its a picture not a vector.

Tracing always adds jags.

You'll just have to learn to edit the vector tracing
    My plotter came with Flexisign and it has tools for straighting a line between 2 points or a curve with 3 points that I mostly use.

Or just import the picture and draw a new one on another layer.( some times quicker)

I would think that corel has the same type of thing.

multi colors on mine ,you just draw it in different colors , when you send it to the plotter ,you tell it to cut only one color, run it , change vinyl select next color and so on .

What kind of software did the plotter/cutter come with ?