585,766 active members*
3,875 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Unhappy Machine meltdown

Hi guy's , I'm new to the CNC zone but have owned and operated the 325 for about 10 years now. I have kept up with the maintenance best I could since buying it used and have not needed to repair it much . Few boards here and there , Batteries .

But after running a tool few weeks ago , it went home , end of cycle . Sitting there waiting for me to change part , it just died. Shut off . Have not been able to get computer side back up .

The Drive enable contactor that makes a sound you can hear when you start up does not happen. After pulling the e-stop at controller (Dynapath 20) usually hit the re-set and the drive enable engages , I Have a (WDT) watch dog timer , fail lite on the AUX board , I pulled the board and put in a identical machine at another shop , run a small program and it worked fine.

Was told that the problem may be before the board and thats why the alarm lite is on , its not getting something , signal ? , to activate the Aux board. I have checked all the fuses , and the way it shut off tells me it blew something . Pulled all the boards out of chassis and cant see any obvious caps blown or anything that looked broke .

The Controller will not come on but have power from other cabinet . Checked all power readings and seems I have all the right numbers . I am in middle of replacing a micro switch that is on the quill hook up . It's on the right side of casting . Noticed the wire is in a tube so as it doesn't snag or wear as it moves up and down with quill .

Thing is , the tube goes all the way down to where wires hook up in other cabinet and I could see OIL that fill the tube 8" from sensor . Thought maybe the switch went bad due to soaking in oil bath. (Prox switch ) thats what it is . Anyway no lite when it passes a metal object . No power readings from old one , probably due to no power to controller ..