585,975 active members*
4,714 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

RFQ single piece small job

Hi,

I'm new here, so go easy on me if I missed something...

I need to machine a simple tool, a tapered dowel, 14.5" long. Widest part is 1" diameter; smallest part is 5/32". There are two untapered sections.

I do not normally use CAD software but I downloaded "Art of Illusion" which I have used to create a drawing (.aoi). Art of Illusion is also able to export to .obj, .pov, or VRML, if one of these formats is more useful to you. When creating the drawing, I did not see a way to set units, so I assigned the various points in the drawing as numbers with an assumed unit of 1 inch.

If the drawing is unsuitable for production, it may still be suitable for you to see how simple the shape of this tool is. It took me 5 minutes to make this drawing on a program I have never used before, so I can provide a detailed enough description for you to make your own drawing.

I can wait several weeks for this part... I don't have a big budget for it, however. Material would be something hard that does not deform significantly at temperatures of 100-200°C, but otherwise machinist's choice. Machinist will provide material, which I will pay for.

If the price is right (please include materials, labor, and shipping to new york city in your quote) I will order a second piece. It is a hollow tapered tube which is slightly wider and a little bit shorter.

I zipped the .aoi file since this forum software doesn't allow files with an extension of .aoi. Including a .png in case you want to see roughly what the tool would look like.

Thanks in advance for your bid!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails inside.png  
    Attached Files Attached Files

I should also mention that the turning does not need to be terribly precise, and the application of the tool will allow for some relatively loose tolerances.