584,802 active members*
4,994 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

speeds and feeds

I have some questions about sppeds and feeds relating to depth of cut. In calculating S&F how does DOC come into play I have been playing around with S&F in Mach3 it asks for Material, Cutter type, Chips per tooth then you hit calculate and it comes up with a spindle rpm and IPM but it doesn't say anything about DOC. It also doesn't let you choose Cobalt as a choice for bits. My question is how do you determine the DOC with the IPM and RPM that they give you?

I'm only new to this CNC thing. in my workshop we have the older machinest that beleive that deep slow cuts remove matterial faster. but we also have the younger machinest that think shallow fast cuts are quicker and improve tool life. so i was at a bit of a loss until i found this, feedsspredsheet.xls i hope it helps you

Quote Originally Posted by rodzilla View Post
    ...... My question is how do you determine the DOC with the IPM and RPM that they give you?
    Once you have the speed (RPM) and feed (IPM) based on your material and tool then you find out what depth of cut you have the power for. If you have a large commercial scale VMC you might be able to drive a cutter with a depth of cut equal to the cutter diameter. If you are restricted to 1 or 2 horsepower you may need to limit your depth of cut to only 10% of the cutter diameter. It also depends on the width of engagement of the cutter, are you cutting full width or only 20% of the cutter width. And do you have no coolant, mist coolant or flood coolant. All these come into play and you need to do some experimenting.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Post speeds, feeds & DOC