585,585 active members*
3,776 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > High Output Coolant Question

High Output Coolant Question

Hi,

I did a search on this subject and didn't find any discussions so I thought I would post this.

I have a HAAS TM-1P Tool Room Mill with the High Output Coolant system. I currently have a Loc-Line flexible nozzle that dispenses the coolant. I also have installed a proper coolant filtration system and it is working fine.

I am new to this machine and have a couple of problems that I would like some input on.

1. During a tool change the coolant turns off. Currently the coolant hose enters the enclosure from the top of the cabinet. The volume of coolant that remains in the line coming from the coolant pump still has to drain from the hose. The coolant while not under power from the coolant pump still comes from the nozzle at a rate that squirts all over the tools and tool changing mechanism during the tool change operation. I believe the coolant system has a one way spring loaded ball valve installed at the output of the coolant pump to keep the coolant from falling back into the coolant tank and loosing its prime. I wonder if it would be possible to install one in the opposite direction near the coolant nozzle to keep the coolant that is in the line from draining out during tool changes when the pump is turned off. I feel that with the power of the high output coolant pump that it would easily push the ball valve open during normal operations. This discussion leads me to my next question.