585,982 active members*
4,736 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Concept Design- Heavy & Upgradeable

Lightbulb Concept Design- Heavy & Upgradeable

Hello CNCers.

I have been wandering around this site for some time now contemplating what a great and difficult project it would be to design and build my own CNC. I have borrowed many ideas used by others keeping what i believe to be the best for my own design.

I have roughed up a design in Google sketch-up (my new favourite program) of a large CNC mill that i would like to build in the near future. I am seeking comments and advice to improve the design from more experienced mechanical people.

I am a Civil engineer by profession, so i understand mechanics principles but have poor practical knowledge of machine building.

Design
    I have designed my model based on the following criteria:
    -Machine must be upgradeable (no welding / fixed connections)
    -use available sections/materials
    -1200 x 900 x ~150mm cutting zone
    -High mechanical soundness

The intent is to start the machine with low spec hardware (threaded rods, nuts, skate bearings, drawer slides) and as i go along upgrade componentry gradually to linear rails, acme srews etc.

X Axis
    Ive used 'I' Sections for the X-axis purely because they provide good surfaces to restrain a cart using skate bearings. A small angle section is shown which will be used to retain the Energy-chain for the cable management. I am using dual lead screws with dual motors because it seems like a more elegant design. Ive seen a lot of designs with beams or belt systems to distribute the driving force but i dont like the look of them. I know its to reduce costs of an additional motor. I could be convinced either way.

The X-Axis cart is currently channel with skate bearings (no bearings shown).

Y Axis