585,763 active members*
4,463 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Preloading

Preloading

I am a total newbie at CNC. What does it mean when people are talking about preloading nuts, and bearings etc??

I have the bigbear CNC plans, which I like alot, however I am planning on modifying it a bit, well just the linear bearings and lead rods.

Thanks
    Haku

Haku,

Imagine a single nut on a threaded rod. There will always be some clearance between the threads on the nut and the threads on the rod. Otherwise, the nut wouldn't turn at all.

This clearance is taken up as the nut rotates in one direction. If the nut is slowly rotated in the opposite direction, you will notice that the nut is turning, but it doesn't immediately move in the opposite direction. It doesn't begin to move until the clearance is taken up again.

If this nut were driving your CNC's X axis, you would notice this lost motion ( backlash) every time the X reversed direction.

Now imagine two nuts on the same threaded rod. The 1st nut has been turned clockwise to take up the slop in that direction. The 2nd nut has been turned counter-clockwise to take up the slop in the other direction. Now we join the 2 nuts together. We may need a bit more pressure on each nut ( preload) but our two nut arrangement can be tweaked to (almost) eliminate backlash.

This also applies to ballnuts and ballscrews. A single nut will always have clearance. That is why 2 nuts are preloaded to eliminate backlash in both directions.
    Diplomacy is the art of saying "Nice doggie" until you can find a rock. - Will Rogers

Thanks you.

Can a person buy any special lead nuts to compensate for this??

Thanks
    Haku

Yes, if you are using Acme Lead Screws you can use an anti backlash nut, seen here:

http://www.dumpstercnc.com/leadnuts.html

I used these in my original design but did get some backlash off one of them and eventually they will wear out or deform, in my opinion, the stresses they have to undure.