585,977 active members*
3,715 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Smile Totally new to this!

Hi everybody!

I am totally new to this, but I am absolutely going to build my own CNC. Have been looking around on sites on the Internet, and am beginning to get the picture.
    Now, to my first CNC, I will make it simple. The framework is fairly simple. As I see it, biggest difficulty is the connection between PC and steppers. So I have decided to buy a 3-axis kit. And this is where I need some advice. Have been looking at Xylotex 3 axis drive box takes the componenets of the "3 axis system kit" ( http://www.xylotex.com/Econo3Ax425.htm ). Is this an ok kit? Or are there better kits? I like the fact that the kit include both the steppers and the controller, which means that I do not have to use time to find components that fits together.
    I would really appreciate advice!!

Oh, and if anyone is interested: I live in Stavanger, Norway, and sadly I don't know anyone else here that build CNCs. This forum looks great and I am sure I will learn a lot from you guys, reading the postings.
    Thanks!!

new cnc

Hey, Hello to another newbie. I'm building a hobby machine from whatever scrap I can find or buy cheap. The only thing I am scared of is the 3 axis driver board might not be strong enough to drive the motors it will take to run my Frankenstein monster I am building. So if you are building a big machine, make sure you have enough motor and driver to run it. I just today got my driver board to work with Mach3 software. I haven't got my frame started yet. Good luck. Dextron

I am building a small machine

Hi,
    thanks for the advice.
    Since this is my first try, it will be a small machine. I will try to build it from whatever parts I can find. Sadly all the scrapyards in the district (the good ones) has been industrialised, which means that ordinary people are no longer allowed in the yard. This makes the project more expensive.