585,987 active members*
4,378 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Small Workshop CNC

Im completely new to computer controlled machines in general and im looking to buying a plasma, laser or water jet machine for a small workshop that will be producing parts for a low production off road vehicle. The table size would be ideally 5ft x 10ft.
    The plasma seems the most popular, the laser being quite expensive as is the waterjet.
    My preference would be the waterjet, but my budget is no more than 15-20k GBP or 30-40k USD. ( maybe more if this is unrealistic )
    If I were to go for a cnc machine, From what ive read so far, there is 3 main parts to purchase.
    The CNC controller, the table & gantry and the actual cutting machine,
    Is this correct ?
    So what I would like to know is :-

1/ Is waterjets outwith my budget ?
    2/ Can someone explain briefly why I would choose plasma over laser ?
    3/ Would I be best buying the 3 seperate components or a "turnkey" machine ?
    4/ What would be a good quality "turnkey" machine to buy for my purpose ?
    5/ In a plasma machine, can a portable plasma cutter be hooked up to a cnc machine?
    6/ is the waterjet table & gantry the same as you would use for a plasma ?

Look forward to any help, My searches dont seem to bring up much info.

Alan

1. possibly used
    2. plasma is WAY cheaper, laser uses "laser grade plate", for most stuff plasma is good enough.
    3. If you are handy you can build the whole system, with an open control (mach3) for less (including labor) than most turnkeys.
    4. Don't know, I quit looking and built my own plasma table.
    5. Yes a portable can be hooked up, one can use a hand torch, but a dedicated machine torch is much better. Most "consumer" (sub 100amp) plasma cutters have a torch and/or lead set that can be changed in minutes.
    6. NO! These are 2 totally different beasts
    On all equipment there are 2 levers...
    Lever "A", and Lever F'in "B"