585,760 active members*
3,833 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

cnc machine for guitars question

hii guys im new here im looking for a machine to make guitar body and nackes what is the most cheap yet good for the job ?

thanks

moshe

Are you looking for a commercial machine, or do you want to build one?

what is more easy and the cheapest its for making guitar as a hobby and im a student so the easy and the cheapest machine wull do the job

Look at the Joe 2006 model. There's a forum for it here. http://www.cnczone.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=346
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

cheapest thing to do is outsource the actual cutting unless your ready for production. If you really want to buy a machine, a CNC router would be your best bet. Most inexpensive solution for cutting parts of that size out of wood.

There is nothing cheap or easy about CNC. They used to be $60,000 machines that required hours of specialized programming to make them work. It is not that anymore, but compared to other woodworking tools it is still not cheap.

If your interest is in building guitars as a hobby, CNC would be the last tool you would need. Even with a CNC, most of the work is done using traditional power and hand tools. There is virtually nothing a CNC machine can do that you can't do quicker with a hand held router and rasps --unless you are building dozens of identical guitars.