585,759 active members*
3,924 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Rotozip cutting .02 brass... what bit?

Rotozip cutting .02 brass... what bit?

I'm a newbie that's using a CNC machine equipped with a rotozip as the spindle. I have had pretty good success cutting .02" brass sheet but I've run into problems where even at a very slow cutting rate the bit will get too hot and/or lose its cutting ability.

What bit material would be best for cutting .02" brass (2D straight-through cuts) and what speed should I be running? Do I need to use some sort of coolant for the cuts?

Thanks!

brass is one of the few freecutting material. No cutting fluid is needed as brass is a self lubricating material.
    Make sure the cutter u are using is sharp, and trail and error with feed rate etc. Shouldn't really have any problem with cutting it

Your "Rotozip" is probably running way to fast for brass. They were intended
    for things like dry wall and wood . If you slow it down it may not have enough
    torque to do the job.
    ...lew...

Can you tell me how fast it's supposed to go?

Bit