585,712 active members*
4,218 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Where to buy Metal and Plastics?

I'm having a hard time finding a source in Canada or will ship to Canada.
    I need some aluminum,brass, stainless, acetal, acylic and teflon rods and sheets. I'm a home hobby machinist and only require small amounts.

I've check mcmaster-carr(no Canadian shipping) Smallparts(fedex only shipping) and ebay(rip-off...)

I'm near Windsor Ontario by the way.

Thanks Michale

try metalsupermarkets, they're slow but could probably track down your needs

Have you tried any local machineshops? Look for a shop that does mostly custom work. You'll pick up on their attitude towards hobbiests pretty quickly. If they show no interest in serving you, walk out the door.

I've lucked into a shop that finds my projects interesting (or maybe comical ). Walked out several doors before finding these guys.
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

I know crossing the border is a pain now, but there's a metal supermarket about 30 minutes from the bridge in Livonia, MI.

Edit: They have one in London too, and maybe closer.
    http://www.metalsupermarkets.com/MSC...ARIO&REGION=ON
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

special material

If you haven't found a source for your material, you should call metal supermarket and ask for Paulette. The phone number is 1-800-759-1743.

Thanks everyone. Found a source for the metals now just need to find a place for the plastics.

For some of the items on that list a large supplier might be the only option. For routine metals, such as aluminum, searching locally has it's benefits.