586,009 active members*
4,895 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > Elm-Chan smc servo controller programming and tuning
Page 1 of 5 123

Elm-Chan smc servo controller programming and tuning

Hi all,
    I am building this dc servo controller :
    http://elm-chan.org/works/smc/report_e.html

I am a manufacturing engineer and have no background on microcontrollers. I need to know how to input the parameters to the controller from the PC ? What program is used.
    Till Now I have not programmed the at90s2313 MCU although i have the programmer but because in the firmware of th smc there are three files:
    avr.inc
    smc.asm
    smc2.asm
    and i don't know which one is the source code that i need to program th MCU and how will I enter the parameters. So I need help in this.
    Thank you in advance.
    Edit/Delete Message

You will have to download Avrstudio from this link: http://www.atmel.com/dyn/products/to...p?tool_id=2725

I don't know the difference between the two versions, perhaps you can find that detail on the original page(also note that there is a even newer version for the more modern attiny2313).

You use one of the .asm files and assemble it to a .hex file in avrstudio(the .inc file is also needed). After that step you program the hex file into your microcontroller.

To get you started using AVR's go to these pages:

http://www.avrbeginners.net/
    http://www.avrfreaks.net

Thank you so much CountZero,
    I will try to learn the avr programming by avr studio. but i still don't know how to input the online commands mentioned in the controller page
    http://elm-chan.org/works/smc/report_e.html
    It seems that a software is used to input these commands from the PC to the controller and this picture is put on the page showing the commands written in the PC
    http://elm-chan.org/works/smc/term.png