584,837 active members*
5,370 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

FREE 2D CAD (Solid edge)

Download a fully working FREE 2D CAD package from here.
    I cant tell you much about it yet since I am currently downloading it myself.
    From what I have heard it is quite a comprehensive package.

http://www.plm.automation.siemens.co...2d/index.shtml
    Being outside the square !!!

Here are some screen captures of what it looks like.....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Screen capture2.jpg   Screen capture.jpg   Screen capture3.jpg  

If you download the software, let us know what you think of it.
    So far I think its pretty good. Especially since its free.
    What are your thoughts ?

I have been using Solid Edge 2D for a couple years and like it very much. I find it to be much more user friendly than AutoCad which I have pretty much retired from use. Just wish I could justify a copy of SE 3D.

I really like it but there is no path for a hobby user to get even limited 3D it seems. At least I take the fact that I never see a price listed for the 3D stuff to indicate that 'if you have to ask'.

I still don't fully understand all of it but I got going making some pretty decent drawings in just a few days having no background in it beyond a high-school class 18 years ago on drafting.

Quote Originally Posted by RTP_Burnsville View Post
    I have been using Solid Edge 2D for a couple years and like it very much. I find it to be much more user friendly than AutoCad which I have pretty much retired from use. Just wish I could justify a copy of SE 3D.