585,763 active members*
4,298 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Suggestions

Suggestions

This is my first post although I've been lurking for a couple of weeks.

My question is, I'm wanting to purchase a machine but I have no CNC experience at all and very limited mill usage and I narrowed it down to a couple of starting point ideas. First, of course I thought of the Tormach PCNC 1100 after reading these forums and and researching Tormach's website(pdf files and videos) but with no background am I biting off more than I can chew?
    The other idea I had was to buy a manual Bridgeport Mill and convert it to CNC. My thinking here was, I'm green and mistakes will be made, by converting I will definitely understand what does what and how to repair myself but from what I've seen these conversions are not very cheap(complete kits)and to be completely honest I wouldn't know who's would be best for my setup. Hopefully that's where all of you come in, I'm just needing clarity(aren't we all).

I guess some information on what I do and what I will be doing is needed at this point.
    I'm in the first phase of building sim racing simulators(online racing)and I'm finding that I need some way of making brackets(small in size), button boxes, monitor mounts and so on. I also drag race as a hobby and there are many things I'd like to produce(not large production)like throttle brackets, regulator mounts, lug nut inserts and smaller things like that. We are not talking super precision.
    The size is another issue. My shop is 24x32 with 8ft ceilings so the Tormach is about the biggest I would want. So that's pretty much it in a nutshell feel free to ask me more questions and make suggestions, I could use the help. Thanks

If you are green and think a Tormach might be more than you can chew then you will choke on a DIY conversion. Learning CAD/CAM and machining will be enough of a mouthful.